News and Updates

Future Policy

The Speedway Researcher magazine which can be viewed on the Speedway Researcher web site was set up by Graham Fraser and Jim Henry to promote research into the history of Speedway and Dirt Track Racing. It was intended to help those with an interest in any aspect of the sport and its history to make others aware of what their interests and to encourage others who had similar interests to work together. It provided a vehicle whereby researchers could advise others of what they were doing and make others aware of what they were looking for.

The magazine published articles on a wide range of topics related to speedway and dirt track racing.

The web site came along a good while after the magazine, the idea of the late Ron McNeil who gave us the idea of using this medium to provide a platform for sharing information about speedway meetings held in the UK from 1928 to date. At first the site was funded by income generated by the magazine but since the magazine closed down the funds have become nearly exhausted and it is now largely privately funded. The costs are dictated by the amount space taken to host the information and are currently not unreasonable. The next step up, is, however, a significant leap.  

Taking this into account the space available has to be prioritised. The first priority is to ensure the base source of information, meeting details, are fully provided for.

For the foregoing reasons we are going to decline to carry any additional items which are compilations of information drawn from our meeting details.  However, in a bid to facilitate networking we intend to continue for the time-being the Collectors Corner and add a “who is doing what” section which would provide details of topics which have / are being researched and by whom to facilitate the original intent of the Speedway Researcher i.e. networking.

June 15

No new files this week but plenty of updates, mainly Mark Aspinell’s Southampton files and Joe Wake’s Newcastle files.


1929 - Leeds, Leicester, Leicester Super, Season Results

1931 - Lea Bridge

1940 - Southampton

1949 - Newcastle, Southampton

1950 - Newcastle

1951 - Southampton

1952 - Southampton

1953 - Southampton

1960 - Liverpool

1961 - Southampton

1962 - Southampton

1964 - Newcastle

1965 - Newcastle

1966 - Newcastle

1967 - Newcastle

1968 - Newcastle

1969 - Newcastle

June 26

Many thanks are due to Mark Aspinell who has now completed the files for Southampton which, a few months ago, was one of the most neglected of the teams. The files are superb and are a great addition to the site.

New Files

1959 - Southampton

1960 - Southampton


1928 - Blackpool Highfield Road, Lea Bridge, Middlesbrough, Wimbledon, Season Results

1929 - Cardiff, Crystal Palace, Lea Bridge, Leicester, Middlesbrough, Sheffield, Stoke, Season Results

1930 - Lea Bridge, West Ham

1931 - Lea Bridge

1935 - Hackney, Harringay

1938 - West Ham II

1964 - Newcastle

July 6

The only new file this time is the latest addition to the season results with 1930 now on line. This file replaces a lot of the files that were previously on the 1930 page and incorporate the files that Bob Ozanne produced a few years ago with the work done by Brian Collins, many of our other researchers and new information found from newspaper articles and magazines. I think the 1928 and 1929 files have been updated something like 17 and 11 times respectively over the last few months, so new information is always coming in. There are some good updates as well with thanks to everyone concerned, including Duncan Luke for his marked Liverpool v Nottingham 1936 programme.

New Files

1930 - season results


1929 - Halifax, Season Results

1931 - Lea Bridge

1936 - Liverpool, Nottingham

1938 - Dagenham

1939 - West Ham

1947 - Wombwell

1948 - Hull, Stoke, Wombwell

1950 - Southampton

1955 - Brafield, California, Eastbourne

1956 - Rayleigh

1957 - Ipswich

1959 - Aldershot, Eastbourne

1983 - Long Eaton

July 18

This will be the last update for a couple of weeks as I am off on one of those long forgotten things we used to do - a holiday. Only to the south coast mind, so I’ll not have to endure the airports and isolating on my return home.

Thanks to Mark Aspinell for the new file this week and plenty of updates as well including the first in a series of Coventry updates from Stuart Staite-Aris and a rare Bothwell update thanks to Alex Hodgkinson.

New Files

1989 - Reading


1928 - Belle Vue, High Beech

1929 - Belle Vue, Crystal Palace

1930 - Barnsley, Belle Vue, Blackpool (Highfield Road)

1931 - Southampton

1932 - West Ham

1933 - West Ham

1934 - New Brighton, West Ham

1948 - Coventry, Glasgow, Hull

1949 - Coventry, Exeter, St. Austell

1950 - Bothwell, Coventry

1951 - Coventry, Long Eaton, Poole, Rayleigh

1952 - Coventry

1955 - Southampton

1956 - Southampton