# **BRADFORD (GREENFIELD) 1928**

Updated 20.7.2020 and 30.4.2021

Acknowledgments: Graham Gleave, Les Drury, Matt Jackson

### Saturday, 7th July 1928, Greenfield Autodrome, Bradford

Source: Leeds Mercury Attendance: 2,000-3,000.

**Championship Belt** 

Final: Alec Hill, Billy Lye, Alec Tidswell, Eddie Flintoff 120.2

#### Club Team Race (For the Felix Scriven Silver Tankard)

Leeds (Oliver Langton), Harrogate (Alec Hill), Bradford (Norman Hemingway), Dewsbury (M E Crosland) 120.2

#### Class C (Novice) Event

Final: John Scatcherd, F Hanson, R Gee

Other programmed riders: A F Binks, J G Bagnall, C G Holt, M E Crosland, D B Midgley, G L Lindsay, H Firth

#### **Class B Event**

Ht 1: Unknown, George Sanderson

Final: Eddie Flintoff, R Baines, Geoff Wilson

129.0

141.0

Other programmed riders: George Corney, Alec Tidswell, Geoff Milnes, A L Hodgson, H Rhodes, M J Dawson, Stanley Flintoff, Sid Hemingway, Dan Buck, C R Hardaker

#### Class A (Experts) Event

Final: Billy Lye, Alec Hill, T F Leak

125.0

Other programmed riders: Cliff Mawson, Frank Varey, J A Smith, Oliver Langton, Billy Milner, Norman Hemingway, Billy Burrows

# Sidecars

Ht 1: G A Morrison

Ht 2: G W Greenwood

A L Hodgson - bye

SF: Morrison, Greenwood

127.0

Final: Postponed as both Morrison and Hodgson suffered machine trouble.

Also entered: Oliver Langton, G S Taylor and R R Hardaker

## **Special Challenge Race**

Billy Lye, T F Leak, A L Hodgson

## Wednesday, 11th July 1928, Greenfield Autodrome, Bradford

#### Class C

Allan Earp

#### Class C

John Scratcherd

# Class A

Oliver Langton

#### **Sidecars**

A L Hodgson

## Relay

R White's Team

# Sidecars (postponed from the previous week)

A L Hodgson

# Saturday, 21st July 1928, Greenfield Autodrome, Bradford

Event 1 – Solos (5 laps)  Ht 1: Alec Hill  Ht 2: John Scatcherd  Ht: 3. Billy Lye  Ht 4: B C Williams  Ht 5: Allan Earp  Ht 6: Alec Tidswell  SF1: John Scatcherd bt Alec Hill  SF2: B C Williams bt Billy Lye  SF3: Allan Earp bt Alec Tidswell  Final: B C Williams, John Scatcherd, Allan Earp	134.0 134.0 135.0 131.2 126.4 135.0 127.0 232.4 129.4 121.0
Event 2 – Sidecars (5 laps) G Morrison bt S Pickard	132.8
Event 3 – Four fastest solo winners for Championship Belt (5 laps) John Scatcherd, Allan Earp, B C Williams, Alec Hill	128.6
Event 4 – Sidecars (5 laps)  J Challenor, Rochdale (Norton) beat G Morrison	126.0
Event 5 – Handicap (5 laps) John Scatcherd (championship belt holder) beat J Challenor (fastest sidecar)	126.0
Event 6 – Class C Solo (5 laps) Ht: G Clay Ht: E Whiteley Ht: M L Deacon Final: M L Deacon, E Whiteley, G Clay	140.0 135.2 130.0 132.0
Event 7 – Classes A, C, B (10 laps) Ht: John Scatcherd Ht: Walter Hillas Ht: B C Williams Final: Walter Hillas, John Scatcherd, B C Williams	252.4 251.4 247.8 239.0

# Wednesday, 25<sup>th</sup> July 1928, Greenfield Autodrome, Bradford

# Event 1 – Grade B (5 laps)

Ht: G Clay	131.0
Ht: M L Deacon	131.0
Ht: C G Holt	155.8
Ht: F Clark	136.0
Final: M L Deacon, F Clark, G Clay, C G Holt	126.0

Event 2 – Sidecars (5 laps)	
Ht: C R Hardaker	137.0
Ht: G R Morrison	135.0
Final: Hardaker bt Morrison	137.0
Event 3 – One Lap Challenge	
B C Williams, Allan Earp, Walter Hillas	27.6
Event 4 – Grade A (5 laps)	
Ht: Oliver Langton	120.4
Ht: Eric Langton	123.8
Ht: Alec Hill, Harrogate	125.8
Final: Oliver Langton, Eric Langton, Alec Hill	123.0
Event 5 – Grade A and B (5 laps)	
Ht: Eric Langton	120.8
Ht: G Clay	124.4
Ht: S Walsh	131.8
Ht: Oliver Langton	119.8
Ht: Walter Hillas	124.8
Ht: H Firth	141.0
SF1: Eric Langton bt G. Clay	124.0
SF2: Oliver Langton bt S Walsh	121.0
SF3: H Firth bt Walter Hillas	132.0
Final: Eric Langton, Oliver Langton, H Firth	124.8

# Thursday, 2<sup>nd</sup> August 1928, Greenfield Autodrome, Bradford

Leeds Mercury

A race was staged at the end of a greyhound meeting, in which Mr E C Williams beat 'Ebony Speed' by 5 yards in a time of 29.95.